Book Review: Boy Band

23966802

Title: Boy Band

Author: Jacqueline E. Smith

Published: April 21st, 2015

Publisher: Windtrail Publishing

Genre: Young Adult, Romance

My Rating:  ☆   ☆   ☆    /5

“You love him because he’s him.”


Synopsis

Sam Morneau is Melissa Parker’s best friend. He’s also a member of The Kind of September, basically the hottest boy band on the planet.

After two and a half years, Mel is all too familiar with the day-to-day occurrences that come with being a member of the band’s inner circle, including hectic schedules, passionate fans, and gossip-mongering celebrity girlfriends.

Now, with the release of the group’s third album just weeks away, their lives have never been crazier and Mel is doing everything she can to keep up, all the while trying to cope with the ridiculous rumors that follow the band everywhere they go and pretending that she isn’t harboring a secret and hopeless crush on Sam.

It’s weird enough being in love with your best friend. It’s even weirder when the rest of the world is in love with him, too.


Review

Disclaimer: Even though this book is sent to me by the author for my thoughts and opinions, this review wasn’t manipulated in any way.

Do you know what this book reminds me of? One Direction. Some background first, the only boy band that I came to love is actually One Direction and the others are rock/punk rock/ alternative bands. But while reading the story, I imagine the characters as the boys with their features mixed up.

The main character in this story is Melissa. I have this feeling I like her yet I do not. Do you get what I mean? I like her in a sense that she’s her, but I don’t like her because of some reasons. Maybe that’s the way her character was build up, an improving one.

Sam is basically the ideal man that I want to be. Even though the media is pulling him down, he endures it and still continues to rise up because he knows that this is what he meant to do. For short, be like Sam.

I also like how the story goes. It makes you never want to stop reading until you finished the story. This book clearly hooks the readers to connect with the story, and that’s a good point for a good book.

So the ending…. Just like other authors, she knows how to attract more readers to read the series? How do I say so? Simple, two words: MAJOR CLIFFHANGER.

Overall, it’s practically a good book. 

Have you read the book? If so, what are your thoughts about it?

Leave a Reply

