Book Review: Duplicity

NKTraver_Duplicity_zps45bc7b91

Title: Duplicity

Author: N.K. Traver

Published: March 17th, 2015

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult

My Rating:  ☆   ☆   ☆   ☆  /5

“Here’s the game, Hacker. I’m done watching you ruin people’s lives. Heard the phrase ‘your own worst enemy’? You’re about to live it.


Synopsis 

A computer-hacking teen. The girl who wants to save him. And a rogue mirror reflection that might be the death of them both.

In private, seventeen-year-old Brandon hacks bank accounts just for the thrill of it. In public, he looks like any other tattooed bad boy with a fast car and devil-may-care attitude. He should know: he’s worked hard to maintain that facade. With inattentive parents who move constantly from city to city, he’s learned not to get tangled up in things like friends and relationships. So he’ll just keep living like a machine, all gears and wires.

Then two things shatter his carefully-built image: Emma, the kind, stubborn girl who insists on looking beneath the surface – and the small matter of a mirror reflection that starts moving by itself. Not only does Brandon’s reflection have a mind of its own, but it seems to be grooming him for something—washing the dye from his hair, yanking out his piercings, swapping his black shirts for … pastels. Then it tells him: it thinks it can live his life better, and it’s preparing to trade places.

And when it pulls Brandon through the looking-glass, not only will he need all his ill-gotten hacking skills to escape, but he’s going to have to face some hard truths about who he’s become. Otherwise, he’ll be stuck in a digital hell until he’s old and gray, and no one will even know he’s gone.


Review

I recommend this book if you’re in love with the genres YA and Sci-Fi. You can actually read this book in one seating because this book is actually short with just 256 pages.

I fell in love with this book after reading Chapter 1, seriously, it’s like I can’t put it down because I want to know what happened between Brandon and Emma, and what’s happening with the mirrors. It’s actually an underrated book and I don’t see much bookstagrammers reading this, but for my honest opinion, this deserves to be read by a lot.

This book happened to two places, the Real World, and the Virtual World. It’s actually smart how N.K. Traver thought of having a prison just for hackers. I mean, seriously, I never thought of instead of putting hackers in a regular prison, why not put them in a virtual prison and replace their mind data with better duplicates.

I love how she thought that instead of having a body inside of the virtual world, why not have them as an avatar? I’m really keen on that idea and I want to try having an avatar myself.

I also love the creative concept on the Project Duplicity. Just like other people, even if their goal was good but their way of doing it is not, then their goal is pointless and that’s what got me going.

And the ending, don’t get me started there. But I won’t post any spoiler, to find out what happened in the ending that broke my heart, why not read the novel yourself.

The only thing that I don’t like about the book is it’s too short! I’m not used to reading stories with less than 300 pages because I linger for more on what happened but she actually made the story successful even with just 256 pages, and with that, a big thumbs up!

What are you waiting for? Read the book now to know what happened to the story.

Leave a Reply

